Welcome to the Lexington Public Library Website

If you do not currently have an account on our website please click the "Create New Account" link. We ask that you have a valid e-mail address to register on our website. If you do not have an e-mail address you can obtain one for free with Google Gmail.

Thank you for visiting!

User login

Enter your website login not your Library Card and PIN number. If you have not registered on our new website please click the "Create New Account" button below. You must be logged in to access Library Databases and to Download Audio Books.

Databases

A Lexington Public Library card is required to access some resources outside the library. A few resources are only available from computers at a library location.

For additional assistance, please see the database troubleshooting guide. If you are encountering errors when trying to access the databases below, click here for assistance.

Find A Database

Filter these database to find the type you are looking for. (Cars, News, Newspapers, Family, Books, etc.)

Automotive Repair

  • Auto repair database for U.S. and foreign cars. Includes maintenance and recall information. This database is only viewable using the Internet Explorer Web Browser. *Click "Login Now" to access database once you leave our website...

Books and Literature

  • Articles on thousands of books, authors, and literary genres from authoritative reference sources.
  • Use the Litfinder to find the full text of thousands of poems, short stories, plays or essays, as well as author biographies and explanations.
  • NetLibrary provides access to our library’s eContent collection. eContent is the digital version of books, journals, and database content. You can access your library’s eContent 24 hours a days, seven days a week. Lexington...
  • Search over 70,000 fiction titles to find new books to read based on your interests. Provided by the Kentucky Virtual Library.
  • Find Books in Libraries all over the World

Business and Investing

  • Business and financial information for U.S. and international public companies, including, annual reports; company histories and SEC filings.
  • Business directory information including the size, key executives and credit ratings for millions of businesses.  If you are experiencing problems with ReferenceUSA please click here.
  • web based access to each new Industry Survey as soon as it is released. downloadable company data on the companies that comprise a given industry each Survey provides links to key industry web sites (trade associations etc.) an on-line...

Education

  • Use these interactive practice exams to prepare for the GED, SAT, ACT, ASVAB and other academic, civil service, military and professional exams. If you are having trouble accessing this database please click here and follow the...
  • Students stumped by tough homework assignments are now able to receive free help from professional tutors from 2 p.m. to midnight every day.

Genealogy and History

  • Large genealogy database includes census images, vital statistics, family trees and historic records. Available only to customers inside the library branches.
  • Biographies of hundred of thousands of individuals, from all fields of interest and throughout history.
  • Research your family's history online using census records and rare published family and local histories. Includes PERSI, Periodicals Source Index, for genealogical and local history research magazines.

Government
Law

  • CQ Supreme Court Collection is no longer available through the Lexington Public Library. Here are some alternative resources that may help you in your research. Biography Resource Center for Biographies of Justices - Supreme Court...

Kids

  • Bookflix is no longer available through the Lexington Public Library Website. Here are several alternatives that may be helpful. www.storylineonline.net - From the Screen Actors Guild Foundation www.storyplace.org - From the Charlotte...
  • Searchasaurus is the friendly blue dinosaur and children''s interface for EBSCO''s Primary/Elementary Search and Middle School Search databases. Provided by the Kentucky Virtual Library.  Search for full text and abstracts of...

Law

  • A wide selection of Kentucky (and some multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas,  including real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included...

News and Current Events

  • Searchable full-text archive of selected national and regional newspapers, including the Lexington Herald Leader. An index of Obituaries and Death Notices is also available.

Periodical Indexes

  • Search for full text and abstracts of periodical articles covering the fields of sociology, religion, psychology, education, agriculture, health and more. Provided by the Kentucky Virtual Library.

Ready Reference

  • Find out about other countries, including daily life, customs and history. Most country reports including maps, photos, national anthem, flag, statistics, recipes and biographies of well known citizens.
  • The Kentucky Encyclopedia was commissioned to mark the bicentennial of statehood in 1992. Its 2,000-plus entries are the work of more than five hundred writers. Their subjects reflect all areas of the commonwealth, and this standard...
  • Access to library catalogs and 40+ databases, including encyclopedias. Designed to support the KY Virtual University, but helpful for college and high school students and citizens of Fayette County.
  • A powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia articles, multimedia, and primary sources.

State and Local Information

  • Selective finding aid to Lexington newspapers about significant people, places and events from 1787 to December 31, 2007. The selective citations included in the Lexington Public Library’s Local History index appeared in various...

Text Size

Languages