Online Reference Room
- Database Troubleshooting Guide
Home » Services & Resources » Online Reference Room » Database Troubleshooting Guide
Database Troubleshooting Guide
Problem: “I can’t access the database page. It says my user name or PIN number is invalid.”
- Did you enter the library card number correctly? Is the PIN number entered correctly? Your PIN number is the last four digits of your phone number.
- Is your library card still valid? (Have you used it in the last year?) If not you will need to visit the library to update your account information and re-activate your card.
- If you are entering the correct library card number and PIN number, please call (859) 231-5535 and explain the problem. They will reset your PIN number, which should clear up the problem.
Problem: “I can’t get into a specific database e.g., Infotrac, Reference USA, etc.”
- Is there a message that says the database’s server is down or has other problems?
- Are you going through Lexington Public Library’s website, not using a bookmark or trying to access the site directly? You need to login through the library’s database page in order to be given access to these websites.
- What browser are you using? If you are using AOL, Netzero or other proprietary browsers, the database may not be able to authenticate you properly. Minimize the browser and use Internet Explorer, or Firefox.
- Do your security settings allow cookies and the sending of referring URLs? Check the security settings on your Internet browser, anti-virus software, and firewall to make sure cookies and referring URLs are allowed. If you don’t know how to do this, please call the technical support number for your browser and security software, as Lexington Public Library staff cannot provide support for all possible software configurations. (Reference USA also has an online guide in their help section to show you how to properly configure Norton Security to allow access to their site.)
- Are you at work or school? Does your school or office have a filter or firewall system installed that only allows access to certain sites or prohibits you from sending information? If this is the case, you may need to talk to your IT department to have access to the databases allowed.
- Clear the computer cache. Old sessions may be confusing the logon process. If you don’t know how to do this, check with your internet provider.
- Special note for Apple users: Live Homework Help may not work on the Apple computers and the other databases may not load everything correctly.
Problem: The databases are slow loading or returning results.
- Clear your Internet cache (see #6, above).
- Some of the files are big; if you are using a dial-up modem or have a slow Internet connection, it may take some time.
- Do you have at least Internet Explorer 5.0 or other comparable web browser? Older browsers sometimes don’t load the databases very quickly or correctly.
Problem: I’ve gone though all the steps and it still isn’t working.
- Make a note of any error messages you are receiving.
- Call (859)231-5520 or e-mail the problem to elibrarian@lexpublib.org (it may take up to 24 hours for someone to get back to you during the week or it will be the following Monday if you e-mail on a weekend). Be sure to include a way to get in touch with you.