Skip to main content
Home
Library Symbol 200
  • Browse
    Browse
    • Catalog
    • eLibrary
    • Research & Learning
    • Genealogy & Local History
    Podcast

    Tales from the Kentucky Room

    Historic photo of downtown Lexington

    Listen to stories of Lexington’s history told through the Kentucky Room archives.

    Listen now
  • Visit
    Visit
    • Locations & Hours
    • Events
    • Northside Digital Studio
    • Central Kloiber Foundation STEAM Lab
    • Makerspaces
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Galleries & Exhibits
    Spotlight

    Central Library Gallery

    Three featured dresses on display at the Collected Memory exhibit, a local history exhibit commemorating 250 years of Lexington. Includes items from the library’s Kentucky Room collection, the Lexington History Museum, Keeneland, the University of Kentucky, and local residents.

    Visit the Central Library Gallery to celebrate 250 years of Lexington's history with items and artifacts from across the centuries.  Visit the Collected Memory exhibit, on display until July 13th.

    Learn more
  • About
    About
    • Vision, Mission, and Values
    • Library News
    • Our Team
    • Support Us
    • Policies
    • Requests for Proposals
    Did You Know

    Fine free. For good.

    Young child reading a picture book in the children's section at the Eastside branch

    We believe in free and equal access to information. That's why everyone can access education and entertainment resources and technology without worrying about overdue fines. 

     

    Learn more
  • Services
    Services
    • Reading Services
    • Students and Educators
    • Career & Job Resources
    • Entrepreneurship & Nonprofits
    • English Language Learning
    • Interlibrary Loans
    Explore

    A book club for everyone

    Women sitting in a blue chair and holding a book while smiling and laughing

    Choose from a variety of book clubs for different ages and interests or join us for a readers and writers event. 

    Find your group
  • Ask
    Ask
    • Ask Us
    • Book a Librarian
    • Suggest a Purchase
    Try Something New

    Book-a-Librarian

    Librarian working one-on-one with an adult on the computer

    Schedule a one-on-one consultation to learn library skills, get help with research and job searches, have a test proctored by one of our librarians, and more. 

    Book now

Events
Library Card
My Account
Donate to The Lexington Public LibraryLibrary EventsGet a Library CardCheck Your Account
Menu
  • Browse
    Browse
    • Catalog
    • eLibrary
    • Research & Learning
    • Genealogy & Local History
    Podcast

    Tales from the Kentucky Room

    Historic photo of downtown Lexington

    Listen to stories of Lexington’s history told through the Kentucky Room archives.

    Listen now
  • Visit
    Visit
    • Locations & Hours
    • Events
    • Northside Digital Studio
    • Central Kloiber Foundation STEAM Lab
    • Makerspaces
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Galleries & Exhibits
    Spotlight

    Central Library Gallery

    Three featured dresses on display at the Collected Memory exhibit, a local history exhibit commemorating 250 years of Lexington. Includes items from the library’s Kentucky Room collection, the Lexington History Museum, Keeneland, the University of Kentucky, and local residents.

    Visit the Central Library Gallery to celebrate 250 years of Lexington's history with items and artifacts from across the centuries.  Visit the Collected Memory exhibit, on display until July 13th.

    Learn more
  • About
    About
    • Vision, Mission, and Values
    • Library News
    • Our Team
    • Support Us
    • Policies
    • Requests for Proposals
    Did You Know

    Fine free. For good.

    Young child reading a picture book in the children's section at the Eastside branch

    We believe in free and equal access to information. That's why everyone can access education and entertainment resources and technology without worrying about overdue fines. 

     

    Learn more
  • Services
    Services
    • Reading Services
    • Students and Educators
    • Career & Job Resources
    • Entrepreneurship & Nonprofits
    • English Language Learning
    • Interlibrary Loans
    Explore

    A book club for everyone

    Women sitting in a blue chair and holding a book while smiling and laughing

    Choose from a variety of book clubs for different ages and interests or join us for a readers and writers event. 

    Find your group
  • Ask
    Ask
    • Ask Us
    • Book a Librarian
    • Suggest a Purchase
    Try Something New

    Book-a-Librarian

    Librarian working one-on-one with an adult on the computer

    Schedule a one-on-one consultation to learn library skills, get help with research and job searches, have a test proctored by one of our librarians, and more. 

    Book now
Support The Library
Menu
Newspapers and Articles image

Historical Kentucky Newspapers

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. Research and Learning
  3. Historical Kentucky Newspapers
Database Image
Historical Kentucky Newspapers logo
Open Historical Kentucky Newspapers
Database Description

Search, view, and download digitized historical Lexington, KY Newspapers covering the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.

Database Category
Articles & Magazines
Footer Bar Menu
  • Shop LPL
  • Our Team
  • Work With Us
  • Locations & Hours
  • Library Policies
  • Help
  • Support The Library
facebook-black
LinkedIn
Instagram
Youtube
Lexington Public Library
Central Library:
140 East Main St.
Lexington, Ky 40507
Phone: (859)-231-5500
©2025 Lexington Public Library
  • Search Library Website
  • Search Catalog
  • My Account
  • Get a Library Card
  • Events
  • LPL for Mobile Devices
  • Browse
    • Catalog
    • eLibrary
    • Research & Learning
    • Genealogy & Local History
  • Visit
    • Locations & Hours
    • Events
    • Northside Digital Studio
    • Central Kloiber Foundation STEAM Lab
    • Makerspaces
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Galleries & Exhibits
  • About
    • Vision, Mission, and Values
    • Library News
    • Our Team
    • Support Us
    • Policies
    • Requests for Proposals
  • Services
    • Reading Services
    • Students & Educators
    • Career & Job Resources
    • Entrepreneurship & Nonprofits
    • English Language Learning
    • Interlibrary Loans
  • Ask
    • Ask Us
    • Book a Librarian
    • Suggest a Purchase