You are here

Fayette County Schools & Yearbooks

Lexington's school system dates back to the city charter of 1831, and it first school opened in 1834. From a single building in 1834 with about 100 students, today the Fayette County Public School system has over 40,000 students and 68 schools and programs. Lexington and Fayette County combined districts in 1968, shortly before the city/county government merger in 1974.

The digital archive collection contains yearbooks and class images, as well as some graduation leaflets.

Morton School - Lexington City School No. 1

Other Archive Collections: